e-city
Greek version Home Page News Events Events Hotels Travel Agencies Car Rental Travel Hotels Bar Club Restaurants Taverns Books CDs Gifts
Home Page > Sights > Paros > The Hill of Kefalos



The Hill of Kefalos 


The Hill of Kefalos

At the east side of Marpissa towers the hill of Kefalos with the monastery of Saint Antonios (17th century) at the top of it. The ascent of Saint Antonios' monastery from Marpissa (it lasts at about 30 m) is one of the most interesting hikes that Paros offers. A while before we reach the top, we encounter studded rocks, the remains of the Venetian castle and of the destructed city of Kefalos. Here was played the last scene of the Venetian Domination in Paros, in 1537, when the pirate Barbarosa took possession and destroyed the castle which was defended by the Venetians of Samaripa. Among the ruins of the castle we come across with the remains of many destroyed small churches. Reaching the top, we can admire the monastery with the old icons and the gold-plated woodcut icon screen and the fascinating view of the east side of Paros. The monastery is open only in the morning hours, during the summer months.

Go back to the previous page


The Hill of Kefalos




  Generally | Advertise | Contact | Other cities | Licence Agreement | Register events

© 2000 - 2005     Hellas Informatics. All rights reserved.